News from Democracies: India: March 8

March 8, 2023

March 8, 2023: **Agartala, Tripura**: In the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP's Dr. Manik Saha, a Dental Surgeon, took oath of office as the **Chief Minister of Tripura** State. Governor Satyadev Narian Araya also administered the oath to eight cabinet ministers. Out of the eight, four were members of the outgoing cabinet, while four new ministers were inducted. Out of the 4 new ministers, three were first-time MLAs. Three ministers in the outgoing cabinet- Ramprasad Paul, Rampada Jamatia and Manoj Kanti Deb were not continued in the new cabinet, since their performance as ministers was not considered satisfactory by the party, even though the three had won again their MLA seat.

Three ministerial berths were left vacant, probably for Tipra Motha, if that party should join the ruling coalition.



Dr. Manik Saha: taking oath of office as the Chief Minister of Tripura State

BJP National President J.P.Nadda and Assam Chief Minister Himanata Biswa Sarma, the architect of the BJP's alliances in both Meghalaya and Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu, Sikkim Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang, Chief Minister of Manipur, Nongthombam Biren Singh were among those, who attended the ceremony at Vivekananda Stadium.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is the party, whose national Leader Narendra Modi, is the Prime Minister of India. BJP has a presence in 6 out of the 7 governments of the North Eastern States. The only exception is Mizoram, which is scheduled to go to polls, in the second half of the year. Mr. Himant Sarma is the architect of BJP's success in the North-East.

In Tripura's elections of 16th February 2023, when the result was declared on 2nd March, BJP won 32 seats in a an Assembly of 60 Members of Local Assembly (MLA). This was 3 less than its tally of 35 in the elections of 2018. Before 2018, BJP had no seats in Tripura's Assembly. Union Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment, Pratima Bhowmik was a strong contender for the CM's position. However the central leadership of BJP did not want to change Saha after a short stint of ten months as the CM.

Tipra Motha: A new party, formed by Pradoyt Kishore Manikya, a descendent of the royal family, which used to rule over Tripura till 1947, made a strong debut and by winning 13 seats out of 20 tribal reserved constituencies. Pradoyt will be the Leader of Opposition in Tripura.

CPM, which ruled Tripura for more than 25 years, before 2018, was able to win only 11 seats in the 60-member assembly, even though it fought the election of 2023 in alliance with its arch-rival INC.

Indian National Congress (INC) used to be the ruling party of Tripura till it lost to CPM on 11 March 1998. CPM ruled for about 25 years, with INC having about 10 seats or more as the opposition party. On 9th March 2018, BJP defeated CPM and the seats of INC were reduced to zero. CPM and INC, which had always been on opposite side of the aisle in Tripura Assembly, fought the recent elections of 16th February 2023, as allies against BJP. INC was able to increase its tally from zero in 2018 to 3 in 2023.

March 7, 2023: **Shillong, Meghalaya**: In the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah, National People's Party (NPP)'s Chief **Conrad Sangma,** 45, took oath of office as the **Chief Minister of Meghalaya** State, after Sangma's party became the largest party in the 60-member provincial assembly at the recent elections. BJP is a junior partner in the government.

BJP National President J.P.Nadda and Assam Chief Minister Himanata Biswa Sarma, the architect of the BJP's alliances in both Meghalaya and Nagaland, Sikkim Chief

Minister Prem Singh Tamang and the Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren attended the oath-taking ceremony.



Mar 7: Meghalaya: Governor Phagu Chauhan and Prime Minister Narendra Modi at Chief Minister Conrad Sangma's Oath-taking Ceremony

The ruling coalition consists of 26 MLAs from NPP, 2 MLAs from BJP and two other parties UDP and HSPDP. Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar, both from NPP, also took oath as Deputy Chief Ministers. Eight other Ministers, from 4 parties, also took oath. The party-wise break-up is: BJP: Alexander LalooHek; NPP: five ministers; UDP: Paul Lyngdoh and HSPDP: Shakliar Warjri.



Mar 7, 2023: Meghalaya, India: Chief Minister of Meghalaya and Prime Minister Narendra Modi

March 7, 2023: Kohima, Nagaland: In Nagaland, the Governor La Ganesan administered the oath-of-office to Neiphiu Rio, 72, as the Chief Minister of Nagaland State on Tuesday, in the presence of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi.



Mar 7, 2023: Kohima, Nagaland, India:

Neiphiu Rio, Chief Minister of Nagaland and Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Oher cabinet ministers, sworn in by the Governor are as follows:

NDPP: G Kaito Aye, KG Kenye, CL John and Metsubo Jamir

BJP: Temjen Imna Along, Jacob Zhimomi, P Paiwang Konyak and P Bashangmongba

Parties, which won seats in the 60-member Nagaland Assembly:

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is the party, whose national Leader Narendra Modi, is the Prime Minister of India. BJP has a presence in 6 out of the 7 governments of the North Eastern States. The only exception is Mizoram, which is scheduled to go to polls, in the second half of the year. Mr. Himant Sarma is the architect of BJP's success in the North-East.

Republican Party of India-Athawale (RPI-A): fielded candidates from 8 seats. Five of them were in the eastern districts of Nagaland, which are backward in all sectors. Two of them won the election. Both are from the Tuensang district. These are:

- 1. Y Lima Onen Chang, 53, a Social Worker, won from the Noksen constituency.
- 2. Imtichoba won from Tuensang Sadar-II.

It was the first time that RPI-A put up its candidates in Nagaland.



Nagaland: Governor: La Ganesan, Chief Minister: <u>Neiphiu</u> Rio with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other Cabinet Members of Nagaland

Lok Janshakti Party-Ram Vilas (LJP), headed by **Chirag Paswan**, in its maiden venture, won two seats. Both the successful LJP candidates were sitting MLAs, who had been denied tickets by their respective parties. These are:

- 1. Sukhato A Sema, a doctor, from Pughoboto seat and
- 2. Naiba Konyak from Tobu seat.

Viloto Pukhato, Chairman of the LJP State Parliamentary Committee, said," LJP fielded 16 competent candidates, many of whom have been representatives in local bodies. Five of the LJP candidates were sitting MLAs."

Janata Dal-United (JD-U) has been tasting success since 2003 in Nagaland. On Jayaprakash (JP) Narayan's 120th birthday, Nitish Kumar, JD-U Leader and Chief Minister of Bihar had visited Nagaland. Before 1970, JP had toured these areas extensively when Angami Zapi Phizo, Leader of Naga National Council, had started an armed insurgency to make Nagaland a separate and independent country.

JD(U) contested from 7 seats. But Jwenga Seb was **the only successful candidate** of the Party.
