Background Information:



India's G20 Presidency

01 December 2022 to 30 November 2023

G20 Leaders' Summit: The Summit is at the level of Heads of State / Government. It is scheduled to be held on 09 and 10 September 2023 in New Delhi.

BACKGROUND: the G20, or Group of Twenty, is an intergovernmental forum of the world's major developed and developing economies. It comprises 19 countries

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, UK, USA

and the European Union (EU).

Collectively, the G20 accounts for 85% of global GDP, 75% of international trade and two-thirds of the world population, making it the premier forum for international economic cooperation.

In addition to G20 Members, there has been a tradition of the G20 Presidency inviting some Guest countries and International Organizations (IOs) to its G20 meetings and Summit. Accordingly, the regular IO invitees have been: UN, IMF, World Bank, WHO, WTO, ILO, FSB* and OECD**.

Indonesia invited AU, AUDA-NEPAD*** and ASEAN. India will also be inviting them. India, as G20 Presidency, will be inviting:

GUEST COUNTRIES: Bangladesh, Egypt, Mauritius, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain and UAE as well as

GUEST IOs: ISA (International Solar Alliance), CDRI (Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure) and ADB (Asian Development Bank).

G20 TROIKA: India is currently part of the G20 Troika (current, previous and incoming G20 Presidencies) comprising India, Indonesia and Brazil. This would be the first time when the troika would consist of three developing countries and emerging economies, providing them a greater voice.

G20 PROGRAM:

- 1. The G20 Program currently comprises:
 - Finance Track, with 8 workstreams (Global Macroeconomic Policies, Infrastructure Financing, International Financial Architecture, Sustainable Finance, Financial Inclusion, Health Finance, International Taxation, Financial Sector Reforms)
 - ii. Sherpa Track, with 12 workstreams (Anti-corruption, Agriculture, Culture, Development, Digital Economy, Employment, Environment and Climate, Education, Energy Transition, Health, Trade and Investment, Tourism)
 - iii. 10 Engagement Groups of private sector/civil society/independent bodies (Business 20, Civil 20, Labour 20, Parliament 20, Science 20, Supreme Audit Institutions 20, Think 20, Urban 20, Women 20 and Youth 20).
- 2. G20 priorities: inclusive, equitable and sustainable growth; LiFE (Lifestyle For Environment); women's empowerment; digital public infrastructure and tech-enabled development in areas ranging from health, agriculture and education to commerce, skill-mapping, culture and tourism; climate financing; circular economy; global food security; energy security; green hydrogen; disaster risk reduction and resilience; developmental cooperation; fight against economic crime; and multilateral reforms.

References: 1. For text: https://q20.mygov.in/press-release.html

2. For Photograph: https://g20.mygov.in/

*FSB: The **Financial Stability Board** (**FSB**) is an international body that monitors and makes recommendations about the global financial system. It was established after the G20 London summit in April 2009 as a successor to the Financial Stability Forum (FSF). The Board includes all G20 major economies, FSF members, and the European Commission. Hosted and funded by the Bank for International Settlements, the board is based in Basel, Switzerland and is established as a not-for-profit association under Swiss law. Its website: https://www.fsb.org/

**OECD: The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organization of European countries, North America, Israel and some countries of South America. The full List of Members of OECD is available at https://www.oecd.org/about/document/ratification-oecd-convention.htm.

***AUDA-NEPAD: African Union Development Agency (https://www.nepad.org/)
